WhatsApp backtracks and withdraws its privacy changes, for now until May

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin
Share on reddit
Share on email
Share on whatsapp

Table of Contents

After the commotion caused by the WhatsApp privacy notice, and the routing users to applications like Signal or Telegram, the Facebook-owned platform has decided to backtrack postponing data exchange with parent company to improve Facebook services. WhatsApp will delay such changes until May; period that you will take advantage of to offer clarifications to your users.

Few movements of WhatsApp caused the outrage of its users as the last privacy notice that appeared when opening the application. Said notice, which all those who use the messaging platform have surely seen, warned of a greater exchange of data between WhatsApp and its parent, Facebook. This novelty in data processing never affected European usersBut there is no doubt that having a notice and the obligation to agree did not help the changes to be understood. WhatsApp has decided to retract after verifying it.


WhatsApp removes the latest privacy policy from its website

WhatsApp Terms Privacy Privacy notice that has aroused controversy on WhatsApp

As we said, the messaging platform has had to retract after the commotion organized by the famous privacy notice with the obligation to accept the changes before February 8. On the WhatsApp privacy page, the latest version of the conditions has been reactivated: April 24, 2018 in the case of Europe and July 20, 2020 for non-European users. The change reflecting a higher volume of data shared between WhatsApp and Facebook (for non-European users) is no longer listed.

WhatsApp has not only withdrawn the latest versions of its privacy policy, but also published an article on their website clarifying that the period for the entry into force of the privacy changes will be extended. Specifically, from the previous February 8 it goes to May 15; date when the new options for companies will be updated.

The privacy notice will gradually appear once WhatsApp has taken “a series of steps to clear up misinformation regarding the way privacy and security work.”

WhatsApp will not delete or suspend any account of those who have not yet accepted the privacy notice, although they will have to accept it once the privacy terms have been updated (it is to be expected that said notice will not appear again to those who did accept it, but it is not safe). And always keeping in mind that European users neither share nor share data with Facebook to improve their platform.

More information | WhatsApp


The news

WhatsApp backtracks and withdraws its privacy changes, for now until May

was originally published in

Xataka Android

by
Ivan Linares

.

WhatsApp backtracks and withdraws its privacy changes, for now until May 1

WhatsApp backtracks and withdraws its privacy changes, for now until May 2