How to disable the location of your photos on Android

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin
Share on reddit
Share on email
Share on whatsapp

Table of Contents

One of the most common actions with our Android phones is to take photos. Whether when we are visiting a place, a selfie at home or a photo with friends, we take photos frequently. The presence of the GPS on our smartphone allows us to also record the location where we have taken these images, something that may be useful, but it does not convince others.

The one the location where it was taken is recorded A photo from our Android mobile is something that many see as an invasion of privacy. If you want to stop showing this location, there are two ways to deactivate it, so that it is not recorded in the photos we take.

From the settings in the camera app

Disable location in camera

The camera application allows us to activate or deactivate an option with which the location of those photos that we take in Android it is registered. This is something that all camera applications allow, although both the name and the location of this option will vary depending on the application you use, whether it is the native one or one of third parties. The steps to follow in this case are:

  1. Open the camera app on Android.
  2. Go into your settings.
  3. Find the Location option (in Samsung it’s called Location Tags and in other brands it’s Save Location).
  4. Disable this option in the settings.

By deactivating this option, the next photo you take with your phone’s camera will not have registered that location. This is something that you can check from the phone gallery, entering a photo and seeing all the data of that image. You will see that among these data the location of the same is no longer found.

Remove location permission

Camera remove permission location

A second option to do this on Android is to remove the location permission from the camera app. A more direct measure, but one that cuts the problem in the bud. When the camera application on your phone does not already have this location permission, the photos we take will never register the location in which we have taken them. The steps to do this are:

  1. Open your phone’s Settings.
  2. Go to Applications (in some mobiles you have to enter Privacy).
  3. Enter the Permissions section.
  4. Look for the Location permission.
  5. In the list of applications that come out, look for the camera app.
  6. Remove this permission to the app (deactivate the switch).

These steps allow the camera app on Android not able to record the location of the photos when we take some. It is possible that when you open the app after removing the permission, it will ask us to grant it again, but in this case we should not do it.

In Google Photos

Google Photos location settings

Google Photos is an app that many Android users use to store their photos, although they recently announced the end of unlimited free storage. This application is known for organizing photos also based on the location in which they were taken, so if you want, you can also disable this option in the application. By doing this, photos are no longer organized based on where they were taken.

  1. Open Google Photos on the phone.
  2. Tap on your profile picture.
  3. Go into Settings.
  4. Go to Location Settings.
  5. Remove the location permission for the app.

By removing such location permission from Google Photos on Android, the photos will no longer be organized based on that location. On the other hand, if you are going to share photos from the application, you can activate the option “Hide location data” in the settings, which will prevent this location from being displayed when you share photos.

The entry How to disable the location of your photos on Android appears first in The Free Android.